you’ve got to be kidding me…

In my classic tradition of using my blogs as venue to vent, I just want to post this small rant:

A new office policy just filtered down from the Finance Department declaring that from now on, brewed coffee will no longer be regularly available to employees.  To rank-and-file employees, that is.  The bosses (all three of them) of course have the right to ask for coffee whenever they want, and then the rest of us will just have to scramble for the dregs or whatever’s left.

Now I’ve only been in the company for a measly three months, and I really don’t want to be a troublemaker, but this just won’t do.  Don’t they know that coffee is a vital necessity to ensure optimum efficiency, not to mention maintain basic sanity, among employees? I cannot function without my early morning (and after lunch for that matter) fix! I’ll be reduced to a blear-eyed, gloomy, yet frazzled mess babbling nonsense during client meetings.  One of the best things I discovered when I started working here was that there was an office manang who would tirelessly brew coffee for everyone at least twice a day, and even when that runs out I could always make my own.  In fact, I distinctly remember the HR officer telling me in the beginning that there’s free flowing coffee and that I should consider that as one of the benefits. Hhhmm, according to the Labor Code there should be no diminution of employee benefits, you know.  And for that matter, this is discrimination to the coffee-drinking segment of the office workforce! It remains to be seen whether this new rule will actually be implemented, but should it come to that, well. This means war.  To my officemates who are in my friendster network, I say this: I will not go down quietly. I will defend my rights to free brewed coffee! Down with coffee fascism! Let us unite and – okay, I have to go home now.

One thought on “you’ve got to be kidding me…

  1. Yang November 10, 2005 at 1:53 am Reply

    wahaha…wawa naman kayo.samen naman mukhang di mangyayari yan.inggit lang kita, me free ice tea pa kaso tumitigas na lang kasi di namin naiinom. =p

    sige, ipaglaban yan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

