because gabe asked me to update (thanks for the prompt, by the way!)

Endured a couple of hours’ summer heat a couple of weeks ago (but not after a looong, sumptuous lunch at Galileo. fresh mozzarella, mmm…) browsing at the Powerbooks warehouse sale to crave my, well, admittedly lately dormant zeal for reading.  Picked up books as I went along, then sat down with abby and jaypee as we painfully went through our respective stacks, knowing we’ll have to leave some behind because, well, we just couldn’t afford to spend that much money (don, with much discipline, took two science fiction books and stuck to them).  At the end of this gruesome elimination process, my final Powerbooks warehouse sale harvest consisted of (my apologies for not linking to wherever it is I’m supposed to link these books, I just don’t have the patience to go through all that):

  1. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco – I still remember the well-worn UP Main Library copy that I read in college. Just thought it’s time for me to get my own copy 
  2. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson – in which I’m currently learning just how marvelous the universe is
  3. The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith – again, one of those books I’ve been meaning to get for a long time but never got around to until now
  4. Bridge of San Luis Rey – a well-intentioned buy, which I got for the simple reason that I remember seeing it in some sort of best-novels-of-the-21st-century list, and the blurb seemed interesting. Plus it was cheap, he he
  5. Rules of Attraction by Bret Easton Ellis – a steal at P79, but I can’t really say I enjoyed reading this one 

 A free copy of “Bergdorf Blondes” came with the loot, which I read in one day last weekend. As early as the second chapter I could see where the thing’s heading.  I miss Bridget Jones.


Upcoming long Holy Week break. Definitely an opportunity to just curl up and read to my heart’s content. Not bad, not bad at all. 

One thought on “because gabe asked me to update (thanks for the prompt, by the way!)

  1. Don April 7, 2006 at 1:06 am Reply

    Yeah, we ought to go back to that Galileo restaurant and have some more of that fresh mozarella🙂 Sigh. It’s good to be back… I hope I can find that zeal for reading as well during next week’s vacation. Well, see you later, my love. I can’t wait to see you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

