woot

April 22-23, 2005 (weekend)

  • took home office laptop and worked on strategy paper due on Monday. On a topic which I felt I was only beginning understand last Friday.

April 24 (Monday)

  • three of us hastily put together whatever we had on the paper. I’m afraid the output sorely reflected the fact that three of us wrote it, written while juggling other tasks and struggling with late nights and personal distractions and whatnot. Remember thesis days, arrggghs…
  • the email message mika wrote when sending me the consolidated draft read: “Woot. Sumasakit na ulo ko sa puyat at gutom.” Quote of the week, easily.
  • Dinner was an impromptu home-cooked meal at abby’s place. Abby had wine and pasta, we went to the grocery for other supplies (including double-layer fudge chocolate cake, mmm). Jaypee made chicken parmigiana, Abby did a shortcut carbonara sauce involving nido soup, while I, well, I was in charge of washing and tearing the lettuce and slicing the baguette since that’s basically all I could be trusted with. We were quite pleased with the results. For a spur-of-the-moment dinner among friends who don’t even see each other that often, our four-course dinner (yes, four, abby insisted that the nido soup counts) was not bad at all. I think by midnight we were still determinedly making our way through the chocolate cake. Sigh, wish there’d more nights like that.

April 25, 2006 (Tuesday)

  • Got to meet Don’s cousin Joann who’s visiting from Boston. Digital pictures from that night (I really hope they won’t end up online somewhere, please, guys) made me realize yet again how huge I’ve become. Must be the double-layer fudge chocolate cake. And years of regret.

April 26 (Wednesday)

 

  • Bo-boo. Was walking back to the office from a meeting when my sandals decided to give out on me. Disgruntled. Sat at a flowerbox while wondering what to do. Take a cab home and get another pair of shoes? Take a cab to the mall and buy another pair of shoes? Take a cab to the office and wing it from there? The office, by the way, was just a few blocks away. Mika chose that time to send me a text message telling me about a meeting that afternoon and asking “Til what time ka dyan?” I was like, umm, it kinda depends. I called her and screamed my frustration, and finally Rondell, my knight-in-shining-armor-with-havaianas-to-the-rescue (thanks, Rondell!), came and picked me up. “You’ll find me in that street near Greenbelt Park sitting on a flowerbox and sulking,” I told him. And he did.

It’s only Wednesday. Who knows what the rest of the week has in store for me?

 

 

3 thoughts on “woot

  1. j.gabriel April 26, 2006 at 3:45 pm Reply

    Hi again, Rina. I am teetering on the edge of “stalker”, but hey, now that thesis is overwith there are only a handful of other things I’d rather do than check and refresh my favorite blogs for new updates. Over. And over. Btw, glad you got to meet my sister, I can’t wait till she shares those photos with me so I can upload them onto my blog for the world’s entertainment; I’ll photoshop in some arrows and labels that say, “this happy lady is Rina”. Sound good?

    I went to that link to “mika” and found her post to that unfortunate situation in Canada where the young, earnest Filipino was chastised for his traditional use of a spoon and fork. How infuriated I was. It reminds me of the days I was in middle school, when Dad would prepare my baon. Everybody else in the cafeteria–and I mean everybody–had some version of a sandwich. You know, some forlorn combination of sliced bread, sliced cheese, and sliced meat. I would open my lunchbag and I’d find a spoon and fork (high grade dinnerware steel, I might add) in a tupperware container filled with all sorts of Pinoystyle goodies. Lobster omelette, mushroom omelette, onion omelette, maybe some tocino or a couple links of longganisa. And rice, always rice.

    You wouldn’t believe the stares and comments I got.

    All I know is if I was that Filipino boy in Canada, or perhaps his older brother, I would have that particular teacher under my thumb. Diversity sensitivity training program and whatnot, or else (s)he’d be out the door.

    Hope you find a nice new pair of tsinelas.

    Like

  2. wolverina April 27, 2006 at 1:11 am Reply

    yep, we were all aghast at that article. syempre pinagkalat ko na dito sa office. while people might have found your tupperwared rice meals weird, i hope they just shrugged it off and nobody made nasty comments like “disgusting” and eating “like a pig.” hhmm, i’m suddenly wondering if you got into a lot of fights in school..🙂

    i’m glad i met joann, though i’m afraid there wasn’t really that much time for us to get to know one another. but hey, that’s how we started out too, right? there’s always blogging, he he…

    Like

  3. don April 27, 2006 at 6:30 am Reply

    Rina and Gabe, you have no idea how happy it makes me seeing you both –my girlfriend and one of my dearest cousins–exchanging ideas and “getting together” even virtually. I can’t wait till June when we can all spend time together again. Soon…

    What a jam-packed and explosive week you’re having, Rina. And it’s not even the end of the week yet! I really wish you could come with us to Sagada. Hay

    Like

Leave a Reply

