yes, it’s a bird!

Eagle nest webcam a huge hit

Now how come I never knew about this when it was still happening?

Basically, the story is this: a retired accountant in Vancouver set up a camera to observe the nest of a pair of bald eagles near his home. He shared videos with friends, and eventually somebody offered to put up the live feed online. Now okay, two eagles fussing over their nest, that’s fine, but then one day a couple of eggs made their appearance. “By early May, when one egg mysteriously vanished and the fate of the second hung in the balance, the website’s popularity spread like wildfire.” The site attracted as many as 10 million hits a day. Sadly, neither of the eggs made it, and it’s still uncertain why.

It’s a sad and inspiring story at the same time. Sad because the eggs never hatched, inspiring because so many people cared enough to monitor their progress. I can only hope that this whole thing would result in more support for wildlife protection rather than just be a one-time sensation.

When I read the title of the article I was so excited because I thought the eagles would be our very own Philippine Eagle, which, I have to say, is much more guapo, and possibly even bigger, than the bald eagle. But I realize now that it’s a very slim possibility. For one, Philippine Eagles are so rare you would be quite lucky to see one in the wild, much less locate a nest. Also, they nest high up in forested mountains, not in somebody’s backyard. The most we can see is the eaglets bred in captivity, which are cute and inspiring as well but of course it’s just not the same if they’re not in the wild where they should be.

I used to cut out articles and pictures of Pag-asa, the first Philippine Eagle bred in captivity. I was about twelve or thirteen at the time, I think. Now, more than a decade later, I’m still chasing after stories of eagles, and I don’t think I’ll ever really stop.

2 thoughts on “yes, it’s a bird!

  1. don May 10, 2006 at 6:06 am Reply

    I’m reminded of that video, too, of Haring Ibon (the Philippine Eagle) taken back in the 1980s where researchers documented the growth of an eaglet nurtured by its parent eagles in the wild from the time it was still an egg to when it finally learned to fly. I might not be as fortunate to witness that for real in my lifetime, although I have not given up on any hope of seeing a Philippine Eagle in the wild–either soaring up in the sky or perched on a huge tree branch in the forest with its majestic plummage displayed like a crown. Someday probably… someday.

    Like

  2. malu June 4, 2006 at 8:56 pm Reply

    There is a webcam monitor of a pair of bald eagles here around where I live in Massachusetts (I live near the mountains and the Connecticut River). I’ve been hooked on it for the past two springs/summers now! It’s really and awe-inspiring thing to witness. I’m sad that those other eagles’ eggs didn’t make it…. I watched two eaglets hatch from the nest here.

    I have yet to see live eagles, though. They are quite a rarity– technically endangered. I would love to see more of the wildlife in the Philippine forests next time I go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

