my first food entry, mmm

this is a rather belated entry, but for the record, here are the food items i brought back from my five-day-three-city Visayan work trip last week:

  • from Cebu: dried mangoes
  • from Bacolod: butter scotch, pastillas de manga, tuna chicharon, cream meringue, napoleones, macapuno candy, jar of spicy herrings in olive oil and capers
  • from Dumaguete: silvanas

Okay, I know you think that I’m a complete glutton who totally deserves her weight, but let me clarify that the stuff’s mostly pasalubong, and not for me at all. I did not keep even a single package for myself, except for the macapuno candy which I forgot about and is now kind of moldy and – well, not edible. What I did was give them to other people and then eat a piece or two after they’ve opened the packages, he he. Simple and efficient. It satisfied my urge to taste everything and my duty to give pasalubong, while still avoiding the onset of diabetes due to sheer gluttony.

So that’s as far as the stuff I brought from Visayas goes. These, obviously, did not even manage to leave the island where they were baked:



Mini-moist cake, black forest and banana cream pie, courtesy of Cafe Bob’s, the Bacolod version of Starbucks (I swear, down to the green umbrellas and steel chairs. It was rather disconcerting). Pardon the shaky focus, I suck at using those small digicams, plus the sight of all those pastries got me quite excited.

And behold the remains of the scallops, at Bacolod’s Pala-Pala Restaurant.


Again, for clarification, these were consumed not all by myself but in the company of merry friends. The sinigang was also to die for, and it’s apparently made not with sampalok or kamias or, God forbid, Knorr Sinigang Mix, but with some shrub or whatever that only grows in Negros. If only for the sinigang, I am totally going back to Bacolod.

And by the way, in the ultimate rejoinder to the classic “clean-your-plate-because-a-lot-of-people-are-going-hungry” parental rebuke, it seems that fat people now outnumber the hungry. Well, yeah, the fat ones go hungry too. Don’t we?

4 thoughts on “my first food entry, mmm

  1. rndl August 19, 2006 at 6:34 am Reply

    mabuhay ang mga masisiba!

    nasaan pasalubong ko aber?

    A ganon, di na pala tayo close ha.

    Lintik lang ang walang ganti.

    lovelots.

    Like

  2. noreen August 24, 2006 at 5:58 am Reply

    sarap talaga ng butterscotch ng bacolod!🙂

    Like

  3. julsitos September 4, 2006 at 5:04 pm Reply

    did you go to CALEA’S CAKE SHOP??? It”s mortal sin not to visit that uberlicious dessert house!

    Like

  4. […] One of my priorities was to go back to the Pala-Pala Restaurant in 18th St., and come dinnertime I dragged Mika and Nini over there to partake of a delightful – and, admittedly, excessive – feast. There were three of us, and we ordered sinigang, calamares, sisig, and grilled tanigue (at least I think it was tanigue. Can’t remember. It was a heady time). The sinigang came in this humongous bowl one can practically swim in – and while I preferred the sinigang I had the first time I came there (different kind of fish maybe. Plus I didn’t do the ordering that time), it was still marvelous. My favorite was the grilled fish. And oh, we had gallons of the bottomless iced tea, served diligently by the ever-attentive waiters who kept filling up our glasses, until Nini finally said, in an almost tearful voice, “Tama na po,” to the waiter who asked us if we wanted some more. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

