in desperate need of chanel

I have no fashion sense whatsoever, I’ll never be caught dead wearing stilettos, and I eat loads of carbs – but nevertheless I thoroughly enjoyed watching The Devil Wears Prada.  Meryl Streep, as expected, is such a gem – that last frame is such a winner – she was so good one can hardly imagine anybody else playing the character. As for the story, my inability to even recognize designer names notwithstanding (I don’t even see what was so horrible about Anne Hathaway’s clothes prior to her fashion transformation), I was able to relate to some – well, truths that can be gleaned from the movie. 

  • On certain especially stressful days, gritting your teeth and muttering “I love my job, I love my job, I love my job” will not always work.

  • Coming from a very demanding boss, the I’m-disappointed-at-you speech never fails to turn you into a complete sobbing pathetic wreck. My boss is not exactly the devil, but – yay.

  • Work ethic-wise – it’s one thing to do what you’re supposed to do, but there’s a different kind of satisfaction that can be experienced from going the extra mile and surpassing expectations. 

  • If you don’t like the person that you’re turning into because of your work (or any undertaking for that matter) and you’re actually fortunate enough to recognize it, there’s nothing wrong with walking away. 

  • Going from size 6 to 4 is easy – in movies.

  • You can walk dogs, dodge traffic, take subways, talk on the phone – while wearing three-inch designer heels.  Well, this one might be a little bit suspect, but of course, I don’t know anything about it. 

Surprisingly, the movie goes beyond your usual chick-flick breeziness and actually manages to make viewers think, question themselves, and oh, yeah, laugh out loud in the darkness of the movie theater. Fun, fun, fun.

Alas, it’s still not enough to turn me into a fashion fanatic. Tsk, tsk, my girlie gene, it seems, is not only recessive, it’s non-existent. 

4 thoughts on “in desperate need of chanel

  1. rndl September 9, 2006 at 5:05 pm Reply

    so many memorable lines, so little time:

    Everybody wants to be us. – Miranda, prompting Andrea’s epiphany.

    I’m out of excuses. – Andrea, before getting it on with the wierd eyebrows.

    To jobs that pay the rent! – Toast made by the cynical youngsters.

    That’s all. – Miranda, after every litany of instructions. Of course.

    psst. akala ko ba mag-oorganize si Ana Boobs ng Prada Night? a ganyanan na talga ha?

    mabilis ang karma my friend.🙂 ahihi.

    Like

  2. guile September 14, 2006 at 2:49 am Reply

    meryl streep’s character is disturbingly familiar..

    Like

  3. noreen September 14, 2006 at 9:02 am Reply

    loved the movie! ung book, di ko kinaya kasi anliliit ng print.😀

    miranda reminds me of our company’s president. i mean, the way meryl talks and acts… my god, akala ko boss ko yun! pati itong “that’s all.” nya. hahahaha

    oist, RYN: hindi pwede isulat sa blog… dami namin common friend ni SB na nagbabasa ng blog ko. baka mahuli ako at malaman nila kung sino si SB. yeah, most of our batchmates are clueless who SB is…😀

    Like

  4. j.gabriel September 25, 2006 at 7:52 pm Reply

    i only know these facts because i have two older sisters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

