catch my disease

Signs of my growing Grey’s Anatomy addiction, which, after two seasons, are just now fully manifesting themselves:

  • I can’t rest until I’m updated to the latest episode (thank you torrents!)
  • My old reliable Peanuts wallpaper has now been replaced by the Grey’s Anatomy cast wallpaper – and I’ve changed it three times today using three different cast pictures. This is the current one:

620×275_generic_cast.jpg

  • I had to remove the Live Update tab on my Firefox toolbar because if I don’t I’d end up reading the writers’ blog on the current episode even if I hadn’t watched it yet
  • I plan to annoy everyone by adopting the sarcastic “Seriously? Seriously!” expression that everyone on the show uses
  • I’m sorely tempted to refer to Don as my “McBoyfriend”
  • I downloaded the soundtrack and my plan is to find out which episodes the songs were used in and then watch those episodes again (or at least the scenes in which the songs were used, but how will I know that if I don’t watch the entire episode?). The title of this post, incidentally, is the title of a cheery song from Volume 1 that’s now constantly humming around my head
  • My boss just gave us a mini-lecture on how we should be more mature and stop fooling around in our computers all the time instead of working, and here I am writing a blog post that shows, among other things, how much time I spend surfing the net for stuff to feed my latest addiction
  • Not content with browsing through the memorable quotes at IMDB, I just discovered I can download transcripts to certain episodes. The last time I did this (for The West Wing), it took me months to read through the whole thing. But then that was like six seasons and West Wing characters tend to talk a lot. And I was new at work at the time and not as busy as I am now. I’m in trouble. Sure I’ll have to trawl through loads of things I wouldn’t understand anyway (“Phenolbarbitol. Load her with phenolbarbitol”) but that’s okay.
  • My gtalk status message these days invariably contain cryptic quotes from the show or from the soundtrack (“suppose you’ll never know?”, “whatever gets you through the day”, “We’re adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop?” )
  • I can’t stop trying to think of things to add to this list. I’m not just addicted; I’m addicted to being addicted. I wasn’t planning to blog today, but if I don’t put this up quickly I’d end up just adding and adding things. Once i put this up, it will be out of my system, and I’ll finally be able to concentrate on work.

I know, this is not healthy, but then no addiction ever is. Seriously.

Postscript:

And lest you think of me as this shallow, shallow person (which is also true in a way, but not all the time), consider: in between all this I’m also reading and analyzing stuff like “I adhere to the proposition that the primary purpose of a Constitution in the democratic tradition is not so much to achieve efficiency as to avoid tyranny in its various varieties. – Fr. Joaquin G. Bernas, S.J.” and living in dread at the thought of Miriam Santiago as Supreme Court Chief Justice. Give me a break.

6 thoughts on “catch my disease

  1. don November 6, 2006 at 10:29 am Reply

    Addict!😛 Pwede pala mapagkakitaan yung mga latest episodes na mado-download ko hehe. Mura lang yung episode 7…😀

    Like

  2. wolverina November 6, 2006 at 10:39 am Reply

    what?! bebentahan mo ko? mcboyfriend ka pa naman!
    ako na lang magd-download… sniff!

    Like

  3. noreen November 7, 2006 at 1:03 am Reply

    i am so addicted to grey’s anatomy, too! penge mp3s ng mga songs! nyahahahaha

    Like

  4. wolverina November 7, 2006 at 1:18 am Reply

    sure! nagkakaproblema lang ako pag-download ng volume 2 pero pag nakumpleto ko na sabihan kita. starbucks libre lang naman ang katapat nyan e, he he

    Like

  5. rndl November 9, 2006 at 4:14 am Reply

    hey sexy, pahiram naman ng DBD, DBD… 🙂

    Like

  6. v January 9, 2007 at 11:55 pm Reply

    mcdreamy and mcsteamy… ohh… i love grey’s anatomy too. hehe. seriously!

    izzie: seriously!
    george: ow argh! (tossing in bed)
    meredith: seriously!

    Like

Leave a Reply

