january lists

Staying away from making a New Year’s resolutions list that I won’t be able to fulfill anyway, instead I made other lists that can serve as retrospective for the past year as well as my way of looking forward to the coming year.

Things I lost in 2006

  • Cellphone – got snatched in March. I haven’t lost the replacement yet, thank goodness
  • The receipt to my laptop, preventing me from taking it back to the shop to have the DVD drive checked (hopefully I just misplaced it)
  • At least one umbrella (2 got broken, and I might have lost another one, I don’t remember)
  • Contact lenses – just disappeared from their case (read: inadvertently dropped to the floor or washed down the drain). I did not lose any eyeglasses this year. Technically. The pair that I dropped on the street and got run over by a jeepney does not count
  • The use of a lot of clothes that don’t fit me anymore
  • Countless pens
  • Thousands and thousands of hair. I shed like a cat on chemo, it’s scary
  • My sanity (but then it can also be argued that I kinda lost that a long time ago)

(A good year considering. There was time when this list would have included wallets, watches, dozens of handkerchiefs, eyeglasses, important files…you get the drift)

Firsts in 2006

  • Jogging in the rain – saya!
  • Experiencing spectacular losses at fooz ball (though revenge came before the year ended, hah!)
  • Anniversary with the love of my life (forgive the momentary mushiness, okay?)
  • Trip to China (exhausting tours and shopping, great photo-ops, lousy language barriers) and Dumaguete (bitin! Non-work trip naman dapat next time!)
  • Purchase of laptop (my baby!)
  • Having long hair (before this year, my hair has never reached past shoulder-length in my life)
  • Consistently good punctuality record at work – a miracle, believe me

Shopping list for 2007

  • Digital camera (handy point-and-shoot or SLR? Hhmm…) – no cellphones or ipods in my list – I’m a techie-low maintenance person. Shopping-low maintenance person for that matter.
  • More shoes, good ones – last year’s sandal-strap-snapping incident should never be allowed to happen again (acquiring the habit of using the rest of girly accoutrements – make up, skirts, whatever – are still under very careful consideration)
  • TV for my rented room in Makati (so I won’t feel so out of the mass media loop anymore – but still under consideration because I might not be able to accomplish anything anymore)

Things to look forward to in 2007

  • Resumption of new Grey’s Anatomy episodes this January 11 – go torrent downloads! (short-term, shallow wants first, ha ha)
  • Prospect of more travel at work (yes!)
  • A raise (I wish!)
  • Batanes trip this summer – more non-work travel, whee! (pending successful completion of the travel-requiring project – if not, forget it)
  • Maximizing the use of my cute Starbucks planner
  • Process of attaining some sort of financial maturity – partly comes from recently-acquired obligations for insurance payments (wow, that sounds so adult. And I sound so juvenile for thinking that it sounds so adult)
  • Graduate school developments – whether I get in or not, I can handle it, but dammit, either way, I have to know (oh, but yeah, first I actually have to file those applications, and time’s running out)

Things that will stay

  • My terrible, terrible habit of procrastination
  • My struggle with weight gain
  • Don
  • Friends
  • This blog
  • Coffee addiction

This is the last year that I’m going to be in my twenties (well, a year and 10 months since my birthday’s in October – tumawad pa daw ba?). I definitely have a lot of growing up to do.

15 thoughts on “january lists

  1. rndl January 3, 2007 at 5:46 am Reply

    Rina! anong itsura mo nung nag-jojogging in the rain ka? at sino naman ang katampisawan mo sa rain? at since you DO have a gym membership, albeit dormant, you could jog there, you know…

    No need to brave to elements just to burn some calories (that will come screamingly back anyways. haha. sorry!)

    Like

  2. wolverina January 3, 2007 at 5:53 am Reply

    well, you know me, nature lover so nag-e-enjoy panoorin ang mga puno sa UP Acad Oval habang nag-jogging kesa sa mga sweaty people sa gym.

    gym, gym… kaya nga hindi ako nag-lista ng new year’s resolutions para hindi mapag-usapan ang mga bagay na yan e, lech

    Like

  3. V January 4, 2007 at 12:15 am Reply

    omigosh! i really cannot forgot how you lost one (of the many phones you used to had) phone to a snatcher hand-in-hand struggling contact! kakatakot talaga iyon ate! at luka luka ka rin talaga at lumaban ka pa! buti na lang at may 2007 ka pa. kaya sa susunod, magingat please? extra ingat!

    shedding hair? really? i guess we are the same in the hair department. i am shedding and breaking every hair strand. good thing hindi buto! at the same time, it has been the longest it has ever been in six years.

    i wish you a prosperous 2007. hope you don’t lose anymore things of importance and i hope you gain more too.

    mwzz!

    Like

  4. Mika January 4, 2007 at 12:58 am Reply

    Kelangan mas wild ang 2007, ha? ha? ha?😀
    More bloopers? LOL. They’re here to stay.

    Like

  5. wolverina January 4, 2007 at 3:01 am Reply

    V: yeah, medyo praning na ko about using my phone in public places ngayon, tipong surreptitiously look around muna to map out the proximity and access of potential snatchers bago magte-text, he he. kawawa din mga tumatawag sakin pag nasa labas ako kasi di ko na naririnig, nasa bag lang🙂

    Mika: sure, bigger, better, brighter, wilder in our new and improved offices diba? but wait, there’s more! more kagagahan, that is. ang lagay ba puro geekiness lang?

    Like

  6. Mika January 4, 2007 at 3:40 am Reply

    NO TO MORE GEEKINESS.
    I’ve been enshrined as a “hard to please nerd” in DateJoaquin.com already.

    Btw, you’re the only person I know who forgets her wallet on a regular basis.

    Like

  7. wolverina January 4, 2007 at 5:19 am Reply

    geekiness is in your blood, mika, you can run and take refuge in your hanson/havaianas/high school musical diversions, but you can’t run forever, mwa ha ha!!

    so i’m a scatterbrain, so what. i’m still lovable😀

    Like

  8. Mika January 4, 2007 at 6:52 am Reply

    Yeah, it’s inevitable. Gaya nga ng sabi ng isang tao, “HPAIR ka eh, that makes you a nerd.”

    Yes, I take delight in geeky/nerdy table discussions, such as the fate of sharks that speed down like torpedoes to the ocean floor once their fins have been cut off.

    Like

  9. wolverina January 4, 2007 at 6:59 am Reply

    they do NOT speed down like torpedoes to the ocean floor, they die slow, awful agonizing deaths! THAT’S something to think about, for those who love the sharks’ fin soup just for the heck of it or to boost their pathetic libido or whatever.

    huff, huff. now you’ve gotten me started on my environmentalist mode!

    Like

  10. Mika January 4, 2007 at 7:01 am Reply

    Nothing spectacular about shark’s fin, actually. It’s just some crazy Chinese food, according to the Chinese boys. Hehe. Onga, that’s harsh. They cut off the fins then throw you back into the ocean. Gah.

    Like

  11. noreen January 4, 2007 at 8:39 am Reply

    nagpa member ka sa gym? wow! san?

    happy new year, rina! kailangan mo na ba ng hairgrower ngayon? nyehehehe

    Like

  12. wolverina January 4, 2007 at 9:09 am Reply

    mika: you ate shark’s fin? you ate shark’s fin???? you are so not my friend anymore!!

    grabe noreen, last year pa ko nag-member ng gym, malapit na nga mag-expire e! perong parang nagtapon ako ng pera sa ilog pasig kasi as in once in a blue moon lang ako kung mag work out. and i’m now fatter than ever. hay.

    marami pa kong buhok, sobrang kapal e. yun nga lang, marami ring nag-usling baby hair all over my head, yung mga pumapalit sa nalalagas. at pag tumubo sila, kulot! as in kulot-patay! kainis!

    happy new year din🙂 mag-update ka na!

    Like

  13. Mika January 4, 2007 at 9:12 am Reply

    Well yeah, that’s the tiny drop of Chinese-ness in me. Like I said, nothing worth drooling over.

    (I was going to say: “In my defense, I eat everything naman eh.)

    Like

  14. Dominique January 12, 2007 at 9:46 am Reply

    “Digital camera…I’m a techie-low maintenance person…” Ha ha, just goes to show how far digital cameras have gone into the consumer market. This isn’t a statement I would have expected to hear a couple of years back.

    Let me know when you’re going to Dumaguete or Davao. I promise to be a good host.

    Like

  15. wolverina January 12, 2007 at 10:25 am Reply

    dom: haha, thanks for pointing out the irony… and yes, i stand by my statement🙂

    as for the dumaguete/davao hosting offer, beware, i might just take you up on that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

