twelve

“Blank on ballot help chances of lousy bets – poll advocate”

may14_1.gif I have to admit I never saw it that way before, but of course, it makes perfect sense.

“Elections are based on rank, not on a fixed number,” NAMFREL’s Guillermo Luz said. “By abstaining, you’re making it easier for other people to enter the Magic 12.”

Of course, a lot of people are going around self-righteously proclaiming that a) they’ll fill up only x number slots in the ballot because the senatorial choices are pathetic, b) they’ll leave all the ballot slots blank as a protest on the sorry state of Philippine politics, c) they won’t vote at all as a protest on the sorry state of Philippine politics, or even d) they didn’t register at all as a protest on the sorry state of Philippine politics (but those last ones I think are just apathetic).

I’ve always gone the “a” route myself, and I’ve been chewing the heads off of those people who didn’t even bother to register – it’s your right, how could you not even care, don’t you know that bad leaders are elected by good people who don’t vote, yada-yada-yada – but now I realize that due sympathy should also be accorded to those people who are intending to exercise their right to vote and exercise it intelligently, but cannot for the life of them choose 12 fully deserving candidates. People like, well, me. And maybe you.

There are more or less 80 candidates for the 12 senatorial slots, according to this list at least, enough to fill the ballot 6 times over, but how much do we really know about these candidates? Are we even making an effort to find out? What are the bases of our choices?

Mika forwarded me this file (senatoriables-2007.doc) listing the profiles of the 24 candidates from the Genuine Opposition and Team Unity slates. It’s not a comprehensive list of course, and I know that you can’t always take it at face value even if a candidate proclaims that he’s pushing for this and that advocacy or have voted for this and that law, but it’s a start. I’m not naïve enough to assume that I will be able to confidently fill up the 12 slots in my ballot with the most deserving candidates, but I’m definitely going to try.

 

image from http://www.bagongbotante.com

6 thoughts on “twelve

  1. Mika March 19, 2007 at 11:04 am Reply

    I read that bit about filling up the 12 slots too. It does make sense the more I think of it. (I also fall under Type A) Again, the perennial problem is actually filling it up. That’s the big challenge this time around. Oh well, at least there’s some use on that Senate candidates file being circulated.

    Type D is both pathetic and apathetic. Oh well, if you’re not registered, that means you didn’t exercise your right and responsibility as a citizen. Therefore, you’re not allowed to complain if this government turns out to be worse.

    Like

  2. v March 19, 2007 at 7:13 pm Reply

    I bit a lot of people’s head’s off when I heard that they were not registered! Oh men! If only I could be there to vote I will! I actually heard that there’s online voting… Is that true? Because if it were true, I would most definitely will, since I’m a registered voter!

    And oh, it’s also depressing to see that we really don’t much have a choice in selecting the most appropriate candidates. I myself have had a hard time thinking about it last elections. But then it’s true, it is better to fill everything up to avoid some SOB’s to write on the blank spaces on your ballot. I just thought of it as, greater good or lesser evil.

    Like

  3. don March 20, 2007 at 12:08 am Reply

    Never will I be in any of those categories again.

    Like

  4. j.gabriel March 22, 2007 at 1:20 am Reply

    I would vote if:

    a.) It were legally sanctioned and politically viable
    b.) My vote wasn’t destined for oblivion, as most votes in the Philippine political process are
    c.) You were running for pangulo (KuyaD for VP!)

    Like

  5. rina March 22, 2007 at 5:34 am Reply

    it’s a vicious cycle, Gabe. if people continue to think that their votes do not matter, then it never will. so i will vote and pester people to exercise their right to vote, but no, i don’t think i’ll ever run. i was class president of my grade 6 and that’s the end of my political career!🙂

    Like

  6. […] and I’m not even guaranteeing right now that I can fill up the twelve slots, but as I’ve said before, it won’t be for lack of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

