eraserheads reunion concert update (or lack thereof)

So apparently, as has been widely discussed (or theorized, or leaked, or whatever), you have to be a smoker to get invites to the Eraserheads reunion concert, you have to be of legal age, you have to sign up at the cigarette company’s site, tell them what brand of cigarette you smoke, give them your contact info, and send them a copy of your valid ID. The invite is not for sale, and (ito ang matindi) not transferable.

While the age thing is definitely not a problem (hah), I’m not a smoker. Where does that leave me?

Somewhere in the CCP area, I guess, having coffee or eating somewhere, with the sounds from the concert serving as background music. I’m going to be in the area anyway, volunteering at a conference. Unless somebody gives me special passes, ha ha.

By the way, note that all the info on how to get invites written above are under the umbrella of “apparently,” as no official concert announcement has been made, and the closest to an official statement we have seen from the reported sponsor is from a letter quoted in Howie Severino’s site.

I’ve said in my first blog post about this that I love the viral buzz – I recognize that it’s viral marketing at work (and they have a story that basically spins itself after you’ve done the initial seeding), and I liked the strategy, but of course, it can only go so far.  Eventually, you’re going to have to provide real, transparent information. And, well, you should not be doing anything illegal.

Kung hindi ka madaling ma-agit (at marami kang oras), head over to Caloy Conde’s blog and scan through the hundred or so comments there debating the various points surrounding the concert. Hilarious. A lot of noteworthy, valid points raised, of course, but still hilarious.

Ngayon kung tarantahin ka, at die-hard eheads fan o anti-smoking proponent, wag na lang. Baka sumama ka pang makipag-patulan lumaki lang lalo ang gulo🙂

Would be really interesting to see how this would play out. And would I be able to see the concert? Abangan🙂

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “eraserheads reunion concert update (or lack thereof)

  1. Arnaldo August 10, 2008 at 1:47 am Reply

    I would love to see this one [for sentimental reasons]

    let’s link up. Thanks fo visiting my amateurish site…

    Like

  2. rina August 10, 2008 at 1:55 am Reply

    if you’re an adult smoker, then your chances at seeing this concert is definitely better than mine. guess i’ll just have to be content going on my own private nostalgia trip😦

    gaak, i haven’t updated my blogroll in years (since when i first up the blog i think). maybe i should do that, he he

    Like

  3. jen August 10, 2008 at 9:11 am Reply

    Aha! discrimination against sa mga non-smokers!

    Like

  4. Jewel August 14, 2008 at 6:33 am Reply

    (Hi.)

    I smoke. I’m an adult.
    But I was wary of scanning a copy of a valid ID and submitting it online. (Security and all that drama.) So I didn’t finish the registration process.

    They’re the Eraserheads! I don’t get why they have to put all this fuss into getting tickets.😦

    I won’t be able to watch the concert now. I don’t know anyone who will either. Out of curiosity, did you find a way around that smoking thing?

    Like

  5. rina August 14, 2008 at 6:47 am Reply

    Hi Jewel. Nah, I’ve just about given up on seeing the concert. I keep teasing a friend who works at PM to give me special passes but I don’t think that’s likely.

    I wish some other company, let’s say, Coke, or even San Miguel, had organized this concert, but I guess it’s the tobacco companies who have money to burn on the huge talent fees since they can’t spend on direct advertising anymore. sayang, the eraserheads reunion is sensational by itself, then it had to be clouded by this issue.

    Like

  6. vaddy August 22, 2008 at 2:16 am Reply

    hope maging ok n sina ely at raymund..

    Like

  7. vaddy August 22, 2008 at 2:16 am Reply

    sayang pinagsamahan nila 10 yrs napunta lang sa tampuhan..

    Like

Leave a Reply

