strangely teary-eyed

I haven’t been following the US elections all that much, and my knowledge of US politics basically just consists of seven seasons of The West Wing (which makes me a Democrat, I guess), but watching the last moments of President-elect Obama’s speech and ensuing jubilation gave me the warm fuzzies just the same.  The symbolic significance of having a black (okay, African-American) President, and the jubilation of people who counted themselves very fortunate to have witnessed such a change happening in their lifetimes, is very touching.  Makes one think wistfully, if only we can have something that powerful over here. Oh, wait. There was. The first EDSA.  Huh.

5 thoughts on “strangely teary-eyed

  1. witsandnuts November 5, 2008 at 1:39 pm Reply

    This is indeed a big day (as if I’m American, heehee). Hope there’s Obama in the Philippines.

    Like

  2. Scarlett December 1, 2008 at 10:56 am Reply

    This is late, but i’ll post it anyway 🙂 lol.

    I’ve never been that interested to the US politics too….but since Obama won, I’m closely following it everyday, CNN, Today’s show, CBS, etc etc. I’ve been swept by Obamania, that I bought the book, The Audicity of HOpe.

    I am too….strangely teary eyed. 🙂

    Like

  3. rina December 2, 2008 at 5:29 am Reply

    scarlett: no, not too late, hindi pa naman sya naga-assume ng office e, he he…

    Like

  4. nold January 11, 2009 at 12:29 pm Reply

    Hold the tears… we haven’t seen anything yet 🙂

    But if there’s one thing that you can tell about this Obama person is that he’s a good speaker, never had an executive experience though, we’ll just have to wait and see.

    Like

  5. rina January 11, 2009 at 11:22 pm Reply

    oh, my tears are for the spirit of optimism, and hope…i’m holding back on the judgment 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

