Christmas time in the city

It’s Christmas time and for the MRT stations, this means having passengers unwrap their gifts as part of the security check before they can be allowed to ride the trains.  I rode the MRT twice yesterday and both times I saw passengers held up at the entrance oh-so-carefully opening the gifts they have with them so they can show to the guard that they don’t contain chemical explosives or other similar holiday mood-ruining items like that.  I can imagine dozens, maybe even hundreds, of passengers going, “dang, why didn’t I think that this might happen, it took me hours to pack all this shit!” And what if they just received those gifts, and were resolved never to open them until Christmas? The Manong Guard would be the first to know what the gifts are! Not that he cares, of course.

I surmise, though, that they only make you unwrap gifts if they can see them, e.g. if it’s a huge boxed thing containing glasses or whatever that you have to tote in a separate bag. However, if your gift is small enough to say, fit inside a small cloth bag or purse (not plastic bag, I think that would be more suspicious) which then fits into your main bag, then the guard on duty would just give your bag the usual cursory-I-don’t-really-want-to-do-this-but-I-have-to glance and let you through. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

